Entries by admin

2004 Cardolite M. T. Harvey Award Winner – Zhisheng (Jim) Dai

Zhisheng (Jim) Dai brought the most recent innovations in products and markets to CNSL technology. Since joining Cardolite in 1993, Jim led the development of the Lite series of products, low viscosity and unique adduct epoxy curing agents, specialty modifiers for epoxy systems, new liquid friction resins, and distinctive friction particles. In addition to these […]

2002 Cardolite M. T. Harvey Award Winner – Eric Van Nevel

Eric Van Nevel’s efforts since 1986 as the head of Cardolite’s ex Americas sales have established cashew based, phenalkamine epoxy curing agents as the standard for low temperature, quick cure in the marine and protective coatings industry outside North America. From a base of virtually zero, current sales of cashew based epoxy products outside the […]

2001 Cardolite M. T. Harvey Award Winner – Tom Hartley

Cardolite Corporation granted its annual Mortimer T. Harvey Award to Tom Hartley for his outstanding guidance and process in the sales and marketing area. Tom’s efforts lead to a significant increase in sales, while refocusing the company to become more market and customer driven. Tom is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and earned […]

2000 Cardolite M. T. Harvey Award Winner – Robert A. Gardiner

In 1975 while working as a chemist for 3M, Dr. Gardiner invented the epoxy curing agent technology based on CNSL currently called phenalkamines. Dr. Gardiner, in fact, coined the name “phenalkamine.” His benchmark product, NC-541 and its derivatives and copies, are the largest phenalkamine in use today. Back to list of M.T. Harvey Winners

1999 Cardolite M. T. Harvey Award Winner – Warren P. Swett

Warren worked as a research chemist at Irvington Varnish & Insulator and 3M for over 40 years into the 80’s. These were the companies primarily responsible for commercializing CNSL based products. Perhaps, Warren’s most important innovation was developing the first continuous distillation unit for the production of cardanol. Back to list of M.T. Harvey Winners

1998 Cardolite M. T. Harvey Award Winner – Vijay Datta

While as Technical Director of Devoe Coatings in the 1980’s, Vijay introduced a product to the marine epoxy coatings industry, with the combined concept of all season cure, surface tolerance, and outstanding corrosion resistance. This product was based on a CNSL based curing agent and established the benchmark for a technology which continues to grow […]